What A Big Walleye Weekend!

What a great weekend on the water last weekend.  I didn’t get out as much as I wanted to, but wow there were some really nice fish to be had.  I was fishing near Perham, MN.  Some of the weekend was spent with fishing buddy and friend, some was spent with my daughter and some was spent by myself.

27.5 Inch Walleye

 

Saturday morning started out a bit cool, but it was a beautiful morning.  At about 6:30am my first fish hit.  It was a beauty.  This fat 27 1/4 inch walleye came out of about 29 feet of water fishing a live bait rig with about a 4-5 inch Redtail.  The Minnesota walleyes sure seem to be in the “fatten up for winter” mode.  They are absolutely hammering the large bait.

 

 

27 Inch Walleye

 

Shortly after that fish was caught, a thick fog rolled in and it made for a spooky, but beautiful scene on the lake.  Twenty minutes after the fist fish my Redtail got hammered again.  After giving a bit of line, I set the hook and it felt like another nice one.  With John on the net, my second walleye of the day was in the boat.  Almost the exact same length, this 27 inch walleye was not as fat as the first, but put up every bit as much of a fight.

 

 

 

 

 

Proud daughter with her bass

 

Later in the day, I went out with my daughter, and the fishing slowed down quite a bit.  I went back to where I pulled those nice walleyes, but we could only manage one little bass, but was happy my daughter could catch at least one.  She doesn’t much care how big they are.  I get the feeling she likes the small “cute” ones anyway.  We did switch to slip bobbers because it is easier for her to fish that way than with live bait rigs.  One had a Fuzzy Grub and the other a Bobber Bug both with leeches.  I’ve had some pretty good luck with both setups in the past, but the walleyes moved out.

 

 

 

26 3/4 Inch Walleye

 

In the afternoon, I went out by myself for a bit.  Things were slow at first an I wasn’t marking many fish.  I bought a Lowrance HDS last year and have really liked it, and more importantly, I really trust what it says.  I was a bit ticked off this weekend though because the unit was not working well at all.  It was not booting up, and then when it finally did, the GPS maps were not working.  Pain in the butt!  Anyway, back to fishing.  I moved out deeper and started marking a bunch of fish between 38 and 45 feet.  Dropped my line down (I’m back to Redtails), and within about 45 seconds I had my first hit.  Once again, just hammered the bait.  I brought that fish up and it was a nice 25 inch fish.  Less than five minutes later, a 25 1/2 incher was in the boat.  The last fish of the afternoon was just shy of 27 inches.  It came out of about 42 feet of water, and when I brought it up it didn’t look good at all.  I spent almost 30 minutes trying to revive it, but had no luck, so that one had to go home with me.  My daughter was thrilled to see a big fish, but it always makes me sad when I can’t let a beautiful fish like that go.  I quit fishing that deep because I didn’t want to loose more fish, and had no more fish for the day.

Except for the one casualty I could not revive, all of my fish were released as they always are.  This day reminded my why I love fishing in Minnesota, and especially in my home area of Perham, MN.  The walleye fishing near Perham can be fantastic.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by shaun on September 7, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    very nice, make sure you eat the cheeks!

    Reply

  2. These are all back swimming in the lake…but I agree, the cheeks are the best part!

    Reply

  3. […] Minnesota area to hunt for some Muskies.  As you can probably guess from previous posts, walleye are typically my target.  Once or twice a year I meet up with my good friends Eric, Jon and Blake to go on a muskie […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

