Catfish on the Red River

I just went down to check out the Red River between Fargo, North Dakota and Moorhead, Minnesota.  Ever since the spring flooding, the Red River has been above flood stage except for about 2 days.  Most of the summer I leave my boat at the lake, but it is about this time of year that I bring it back to town to fall fish the Red River.

Talking with Captain Dave Larson who runs Reelin’ on the Red guide service in the area, fishing has been pretty tough with the high water.  I’m hoping to touch base with him next week before I start to venture out on the river.  Last year was the first time I really hit the river pretty hard, and I gotta say it is a beautiful waterway.

One of my Catfish from last year

Catfishing is one of the most relaxing, yet exciting fishing I’ve done.  Because the river is totally sheltered anywhere you go around the Fargo-Moorhead area, it is always calm.

Last year my main setup was about a 2oz slip weight with about a 1-2 foot snell.  I used a variety of bait including frogs, cut bait and minnows.  I thought the frogs and cut bait were the best options.

I messed around with Rapalas and jig/minnow combos as well as some slip bobbers in the creeks coming into the river, but the slip sinker snell combo worked best for me.  I have to admit I’m a Red River noobie, so if any of you have experience out there, I’d love to find out what is working best for you.  I’ll keep sharing as I get out there this fall, but I’d love to hear your stories as well.  There are some monster Red River Catfish in there, and I’m hoping to find mine this fall.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brad Durick on August 29, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    If you think that’s fun come an hour north to the Grand Forks stretch. http://redrivercatfish.com/photos/2011/index.html

    Reply

    • Wow, those are some monsters. I knew they were in there, but I’m just learning the river. I just might take you up on that. Would love to get on the river up there. How have things been this year? Has the high water really screwed things up?

      Reply

  2. Posted by Brad Durick on August 30, 2011 at 9:39 am

    The water has been high, in fact higher than we have ever fished but we learned it and held our own all year. We were only shut down for about 6 days all season.

    Reply

  3. […] I said in a previous post about fishing Catfish on the Red River, I’m no expert.  In fact, last year was the first year I started putting my boat on the […]

    Reply

  4. […] River Catfish Q&A with Brad Durick Catfish on the Red River Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

