Delicious Venison Quesadilla

I’m a hunter, and lots of people ask me what I do with my venison.  I often hear that it is dry, gamey, or just not good.  That’s completely wrong in my opinion.  One of my favorite ways to cook up the venison roasts is like this:

1.  Build a flavorful stock.  I use lots of veggies as well as herbs, seasonings and a beef bone if I have one.  It is not against the rules to cheat and use bullion cubes.

2.  Place the roast(s) in a tall baking dish with a lid and completely cover with the stock.

3.  Place it in the oven over low heat (about 275) for 5-6 hours.

4.  Remove from oven and put the roasts on a cutting board to cool.

5.  Shred the venison (it will fall apart), and place it back in the stock and bake again with the lid on for another 30 minutes.

Once you have done this, you can use the shredded venison in all sorts of dishes.  I used it on sandwiches, on pizza and in quesadillas.  One thing that I did this last time is used lots of extra stock, and when I removed the roasts to shred them, I pulled out a bunch of the stock and reduced it down with a rue and made a fantastic thick gravy to go with it.  Delicious!

The other great part is that it freezes well.  I cook up 2-3 roasts and then put meal size portions in ziploc baggies and freeze it until needed.  Be sure to include a bit of the stock to keep it moist.

Venison Quesadilla

Ingredients:

1 Tortillas
Shredded Sharp Cheddar
Cream Cheese
Shredded Venison
Salsa
Seasoned Sour Cream
Olive oil

Heat a pan on the stove top with a bit of olive oil.  Spread a bit of cream cheese on the tortilla, and then place the shredded venison meat and some shredded cheddar on half of the tortilla.  Fold the tortilla in half and place in the pan with olive oil over medium heat.  After cooking for about 2-3 minutes, flip the quesadilla and cook another 2-3 minutes.  (Tortilla should be golden brown)

From there you can do what you want with it.  I seasoned some sour cream with red pepper and garlic.  I also made a quick easy fresh salsa with tomato, onion, corn and celery for a bit of crunch, and added some olive oil, red pepper flake and lime.  It was delicious.

So next time someone says “How do I cook venison?” you can tell them about this.  It’s fantastic!

Leave a Reply

