Walleyes Down Deep

I have a cabin on a deep spring fed lake near Perham, Minnesota.  It’s a very clean, clear lake and the walleyes tend to go deep in the summer and early fall before they get their feed bags on for winter.  I was out this weekend trying all the usual spots and I was just not marking fish.  I slowly worked my way out to the deep holes (up to 110 feet deep), and I soon started seeing some big hooks down deep.  The thermocline was at about 30 feet, and I started marking pods of baitfish between 30 and 50 feed deep.   Down below them, in 60-70 feet of water I started marking some awfully big hooks.  It was downrigger time.

 

I used my Cannon Easi Troll 2 Downrigger with an 8 lb ball to get me down deep.  Normally when I use the downrigger for Walleyes, I’m running crank baits.  I thought I would try something a bit different this time.  About a month ago, I was fishing Seseganaga Lake in Ontario, and while I was trying to find the Lake Trout using cowbells and a trolling spoon, I started catching Walleye.  I’ve never targeted Walleye with that setup before, but I thought I would give it a try.

 

Well, it wasn’t fast and furious, but I managed to hook into a couple nice Walleyes.  I was running the downrigger at about 45-50 feet so my presentation was just above the hooks on the depth finder.  I had 50 feet of line out, so between the downrigger and a bit of drop from the cowbell, I was fishing about 55 feet down.

Our water has been up high this year, so nothing seems to be “normal” on the water.  It has led to some frustrating days on the water, but also has forced me to try some new presentations and new spots.  For me, the thrill of the hunt is just as enjoyable as the fish I catch, so while I didn’t slay them this weekend, I had a blast.  I’m excited to try more new things in the weeks to come.  Tell me about something different you have tried lately for those hard to catch Walleyes.  I’d like to learn from you.

2 responses to this post.

  1. You blog? Yeah!
    I’m all caught up on your posts. And I’m hungry now. Looking forward to following, Josh!

    Reply

  2. Thanks for checking out my blog. Just checked yours out, great pictures! Makes me want to head to the beach!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

