Beet it – Roasted Beet and Sweet Potato Recipe

Joining a CSA this year has really opened my eyes to lots of great vegetables that I wouldn’t normally buy in the store.  Not that I don’t

What a beautiful beet salad

like them, but I find myself caught in the rut of the standard veggies like broccoli, green beans, etc.  One of the great veggies that came recently was a beautiful bunch of beets.  Ever since a great meal I had in Nashville several months ago, which included a fantastic beet salad, I’ve been thinking about doing more with beets, so when they showed up in my weekly basket, it was time to give them a try.  Here is my beet recipe, which my whole family loved.

Roasted Beets and Sweet Potato Recipe

This dish was simple to prepare and tasted fantastic.  I encourage all of you to give this beet recipe a try.  You won’t be disappointed.

Ingredients:

4 Beets, peeled and chopped

2 Sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped

Several sprigs of rosemary, chopped

Walnut Oil

It’s really simple.  peel the beets and sweet potatoes and chop them into about 3/4 inch cubes.  Size doesn’t really matter (yea, that’s what they all say) just a uniform size so they all cook evenly.  Drizzle the beets and sweet potatoes with walnut oil and toss evenly.  Lay the beets and sweet potatoes evenly in a glass baking dish.  Top with the chopped rosemary and put in the oven on about 375 degrees.  About every 10-15 minutes stir the beets and sweet potatoes so they cook evenly.  Done when tender with a fork.  About 30-40 minutes depending on the size of the veggies.

What beautiful color is waiting inside a beet

I found the walnut oil gives the dish a great nutty flavor that adds another dimension to the dish.  Once they are cooked through, the sweetness of the beets and sweet potatoes mixed with the nutty flavor of the walnut oil and the fragrance of the rosemary makes this a winner!  My kids even loved this one.  Hope you enjoy this simple, yet delicious beet recipe.

Next time someone says Beet It, now you know how.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

