Red River of the North – What a Beautiful River

With the exception of a 5 year stint away from the Fargo-Moorhead area, I’ve lived right next to the Red River all my life.  Like most people in the area, it is simply a thing you have to drive over on a bridge.  I’ve been a die hard fisherman for over 30 years, and until 2 years ago, I’ve really never fished the river.  Sure, I sat on shore a couple times and caught a few fish, but like most people, I didn’t really see it as a place to fish.  It was just a muddy river that marked the border between Minnesota and North Dakota.

Here is a short video I took while driving to our next fishing spot.

My last post about Catfishing on the Red River talked all about the fishing, but the beauty of the river is something that I never really saw until I started running my boat up the river last year.  It is an absolutely beautiful place.  Especially this time of year when the leaves are changing color, it was a magical place to be.  Besides the beauty of the landscape, wildlife is all around you.   Deer, turkeys, beavers, otters, eagles, ducks and geese to name a few.  Yea, I’d be lying if I said my real prize isn’t under the water, but when you combine the two, it is absolutely awesome!

With that, I wanted to share a few photos I took last weekend on the Red River.

I’m not sure how I drove over the Red River of the North thousands of times without realizing what a beautiful place it is, but I wanted to share with all of you.  Have you been out on the river?  If not, what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

