Lake of the Woods Ice Fishing

Getting ready to head out on Lake of the Woods

All I can say is that I’m getting antsy to get out on the ice.  I’ve fired up the auger, pulled my Guide Series Clam portable down and put new line on my reels.  On top of that I’ve spent a few too many hours in Scheels and Gander Mountain over the past couple weeks and my wish list has grown.

I’ve been watching the fishing boards and it looks like the small lakes have 1-4 inches of ice on them and the larger lakes still have open spots, so it is a couple more weeks until it will be time to hit it hard.  In the mean time, I’ll I can do is think back to past ice fishing trips.

Lake of the Woods and Red Lake are two of my favorite hot spots in the winter.  I’ve started hitting up Leech Lake a bit, but I still think that Lake of the Woods and Red Lake are better fisheries.  Getting the itch to get on the ice sent me looking through pictures of past ice fishing trips.  I didn’t take nearly as many pictures a year or two back as I do now, but I thought I would share a few from a Lake of the Woods ice fishing trip I was on with my brother-in-law and father-in-law.  It was a great weekend on the ice.

I can't help but lead with this giant 6 pounder....er 6 incher I mean.

A couple nice eaters from Lake of the Woods

Another great eater by my father-in-law

The Eelpout sure turned on in the evenings

Jerry was thrilled to get an Eelpout...ha

Andrew's Eelpout - and he got to clean them...hehe

It was a great trip that I will remember for a long time.  As slimy as those Lake of the Woods Eelpout were, they were absolutely delicious.  We boiled them in some water and just drizzled melted butter and salt on them and they were fantastic.  I’m not sure if I’ll say they were better than the fresh from the hole walleye, but darn close.  I can’t wait to get back up to Lake of the Woods, with our recent Red Lake trips, it has been too long.

Leave a Reply

